VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

+19
Lyrad
pan58head
whopman
organ grinder
Digz
dix
sandyvan
ScottyJones
uncle ron
austinmodhouse
dodge man
wideload
Admin
Nightmoves
HandiVanMan
Camaro Addict
maybee
Big W
mbasaraba
23 posters

Welcoming a new member to our home...

mbasaraba
    mbasaraba

Number of posts : 823
    Registration date : 2009-01-08

Welcoming a new member to our home... Empty Welcoming a new member to our home...

Post by mbasaraba Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:07 am

On Saturday morning I packed the wife and 2 boys and headed for Kentucky. Mike (Wideload) and I have been working out the details on his '66 Sportvan for a couple months all hinging on the sale of the 2005 Scion Xb that the wife and I were trying to get rid of. It went pretty fast once I got it cleaned up and on the market and so I sent Mike a PM telling him I would take the van.

We got to Mike and Cindy's about 11:30am and got to work drove it up on the dolly, swapping the rear tires with a set of 14" I had (taken off my 64 panel), and got the driveshaft off.

Tammy was super excited once she saw it and has been talking about nothing else. When we first started looking for a van she really wanted a window van for her daily driver but they were far and few and expensive if we could find anything. When Mike had his 2nd Gen up for sale I stopped on my way to North Dakota and jokingly said, the wife would love the Sportvan! He told me he would let it go and I sent Tammy a message as soon as we left.

Mike did a LOT of clean up on this van. He had a thread on taking all that carpet and glue out and he sure did one hell of a nice job!

The floor up front will need to be replaced but no big deal, I got a half sheet of 14 gauge at home and we are going to start that as soon as I can get the 64 off the lift and pushed out of the garage.

So here are the plans...