VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

2 posters

Newbie Questions about V8 Conversion

Newbie Questions about V8 Conversion Empty Newbie Questions about V8 Conversion

Post by Guest Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:10 pm

Hello,

I am brand new to the world of early vans. Just bought my first, a 66 G10. The previous owner bought it in 73' and has really done a lot of work to the 292 currently in it, along with the suspension, custom 4 on the tree with an electronic overdrive etc. I'm looking for any advice, tips, horror stories etc. about possibly converting it to a newer Vortec V8 and tranny. I still stay in touch with the previous owner who has had it since he was 17 and he is discouraging me to say the least about changing out what he has in it.

I guess I just want to introduce myself to the group and start getting any and all advice to help me moving forward with this project!

Thanks guys!
    ScottyP
    savage
    savage

Number of posts : 2626
    Registration date : 2008-05-15

Newbie Questions about V8 Conversion Empty Re: Newbie Questions about V8 Conversion

Post by savage Tue Nov 03, 2009 5:40 am

Welcome Scotty. Your vans already got some great mods to it. If you put a V8 in ,your going to have to revamp alot of stuff(doghouse, rad,trans mount,linkage,wiring,& maybe gas tank??) Pics are always good Cool
    m1dadio
    m1dadio
    Chevy Guru

Number of posts : 1778
    Registration date : 2008-10-06

Newbie Questions about V8 Conversion Empty Re: Newbie Questions about V8 Conversion

Post by m1dadio Tue Nov 03, 2009 6:12 pm

Welcome:

I put a newer (1988) V8 with a 700R4 into my 65. It took a year and half of my spare time. I have lots of mechanical expirience and all the shop tools anybody could want.

Have a look

https://s119.photobucket.com/albums/o122/m1dadio/

go to the bottom of the page and select "view all"