VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

5 posters

The cooling battle

Jessetygr
    Jessetygr

Number of posts : 90
    Registration date : 2012-01-06

The cooling battle Empty The cooling battle

Post by Jessetygr Wed Sep 04, 2013 11:18 pm

I got a little side tracked this weekend with my fuel tank swap plan and ended up diving into the van's cooling issue..
    Like many of the post I've read, my van ofcourse has overheating issues.. I've upgraded to a new rad, changed filters, changed my stat, and Fred C. even helped further by installing a push fan on the front of my rad.. Even after these upgrades, the van was still running hot.
    I'm sure there are some heat issues resulting from the stronger  ignition system I installed but I'm still learning as I go.. What was pretty clear was the fact my engine fan itself was next to useless.. It was a small, four blade fan (without a shroud) and hardly pulling any air thru the rad. I decided it was time to pull the fan and replace it with a larger electronic pulling fan! In order to fit the new fan in place, I had to slide the rad pretty far forward towards the front of the dog house so it would clear the bell mount of the old engine fan. I decided to keep the front pusher fan (which operates on a switch) on the rad as its a good cooling option in traffic but it further reduced the space for air to get up into the dog house.