VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

+4
DanTheVanMan
Twinpilot001
G-Man
slowrider
8 posters

v-8 in 65 van running hot

slowrider
    slowrider

Number of posts : 111
    Registration date : 2011-07-15

v-8 in 65 van running hot Empty v-8 in 65 van running hot

Post by slowrider Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:48 pm

Hello all,newbie here. I just scored a 65 panel van.At least i think its considerd a panel although it does have glass in the rear doors.Some one droped a 350 in it with a ofenhauser manifold ,holly double pumper and headers stoping at twin cherry bombs.My understanding is they only came with 6 cyls and im asumeing it has the original radiator.My question to those who have droped a v-8 in theres is what radiator did you use? Im hopeing to find out that theres something that will drop in with out doing any butchering. Thanks, Slowrider.
    G-Man
    G-Man
    Mayor
    Mayor

Number of posts : 30743
    Registration date : 2008-05-06

v-8 in 65 van running hot Empty Re: v-8 in 65 van running hot

Post by G-Man Thu Jul 28, 2011 2:56 pm

If it still has the 6 cyl rad. that could be the problem, but it also could be something else. Welcome to the site!!!!
    Twinpilot001
    Twinpilot001

Number of posts : 6186
    Registration date : 2009-09-28

Post by Twinpilot001 Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:02 pm

well?/ with tye engine running- look into the radiator- see any bubbles?? if so possibly compression leaking into the cooling system?? How quickly does it overheat? is it blowing water out the overflow just ideling? whats the inside of radiator look like?? new radiator or whats installed/ have a fan shroud ? type fan / no fan?/
    DanTheVanMan
    DanTheVanMan
    Commissioner
    Commissioner

Number of posts : 7900
    Registration date : 2008-10-08

Post by DanTheVanMan Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:11 pm

slowrider,