VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

+4
m1dadio
donivan65
Digz
G-Man
8 posters

V8 Swap engine mounts?

V8 Swap engine mounts? Empty V8 Swap engine mounts?

Post by Guest Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:07 pm

I am at the point where I have taken out my 6 cylinder and I'm putting in a 350 V8. (View this string for details on the engine - https://vintage-vans.forumotion.com/vintage-vans-general-discussion-f1/v8-swap-t10733.htm)

This is the engine:

V8 Swap engine mounts? Chevy_11

Here are the mounts on the motor:

V8 Swap engine mounts? Chevy_12

Here is the cross member with the original mounts on my van, (66 G10):

V8 Swap engine mounts? 66van_10

And Here are the engine mounts in the truck where the 350 came from:

V8 Swap engine mounts? Hemmo_10

I am new to this. Anyone have any advice? Is there good news like my cross member can easily just accept some factory mount adapters?

Any info would be great.

Heavy
    G-Man
    G-Man
    Mayor
    Mayor

Number of posts : 30743
    Registration date : 2008-05-06

V8 Swap engine mounts? Empty Re: V8 Swap engine mounts?

Post by G-Man Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:11 pm

You just need the rubber V8 mounts and your engine will work with that cross member

Post by Guest Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:56 pm

REALLY!!?? The cross member in my van looks so wimpy compared to the mouting member in the truck. I mean, if its a common thing for 1st gen vans to be able to swap engines without beefing up that cross member, then Great!! Easier is way better.

Thanks.

Heavy
    G-Man
    G-Man
    Mayor
    Mayor

Number of posts : 30743
    Registration date : 2008-05-06

Post by G-Man Tue Feb 09, 2010 2:05 pm

You have to take off the 6 mounts, then the V8 works
    Digz
    Digz

Number of posts : 3794
    Registration date : 2008-05-17

Post by Digz Tue Feb 09, 2010 3:44 pm

V8 Swap engine mounts? 230-en10