VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

3 posters

Finally found an Econoline, what to look for???

Finally found an Econoline, what to look for??? Empty Finally found an Econoline, what to look for???

Post by Guest Sun Aug 23, 2009 9:10 am

Hey, I am new here and to vans, but I have always wanted one and now have the chance (fingers crossed)!

I have finally found an Econoline, but the info I got from the seller doesn’t match up with the limited info I have on this particular van.

So as a nOOb, I need some advice on what to look for.

What the seller claims to have is a 1967 (window van) with a 6 cyl. 3 speed, he “thinks” it has a 140 or 170 motor. Now what I want to know is, did a ’67 have a 140 or 170? I thought Ford stopped using those and bumped up to the 200/250 after 1965, I could be wrong or he could have an earlier year van???

The other thing he mentioned was the front end had been rebuilt and was “stiff”. I didn’t get the chance to ask what had been done, I am assuming new king pins??? I know this isn’t a Cadillac, would new king pins make the front end “stiff”? Or could something be buggered up I need to look for?

The only other thing I know to look for is rust around the wheel wells.
    So what else should I look for?

Thanks in advance! And with any luck I will have a new Econo!

Here is the only picture…
    Finally found an Econoline, what to look for??? 1967
    crazee

Number of posts : 331
    Registration date : 2009-02-24

Finally found an Econoline, what to look for??? Empty Re: Finally found an Econoline, what to look for???

Post by crazee Sun Aug 23, 2009 12:17 pm

Chrome Crom wrote:Hey, I am new here and to vans, but I have always wanted one and now have the chance (fingers crossed)!