VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

5 posters

Newbie looking for some tips

Newbie looking for some tips Empty Newbie looking for some tips

Post by Guest Sat Aug 01, 2009 11:48 am

I've loved the first gen Econolines since I first saw one. Now that I'm 18 I can sort of afford to buy one, and since I'm a college student full time, using it as a daily driver doesn't seem like a horrible idea. I have a few questions though and was wondering if any of you could answer them.

What is the highest speed you would recommend driving one? Assuming they're geared properly, can they keep up with highway traffic at 60-65? How about interstate traffic at 75? I know they'll be blown around a lot, but I drive a 2005 E-350 extended as of right now, so I was wondering how much worse it'd be.
    Do they drive well enough that I could use one as a daily driver without too much concern? Yes, I know, it's a 42 year old box on wheels, but are they terrible to live with?
    I'm sure there are more but I've forgotten them at the moment.

If anyone's curious, I'd like to get a Supervan with as little rust as possible, fix it up for a daily driver, clean up the inside, line it with carpet and throw in a couch and maybe a TV or something, install a roof AC from an RV to keep it cool and run with that for a while. Later on I'd want to swap out the 240 for a mildly built 240 or 300 backed by a 5 speed manual with a column shift. (I know it's been done, and overdrive is just nice to have) Then later on throw some axles from a Bronco under there and convert it to 4x4, giving it disc brakes in the process. Nothing crazy, just the minimum lift to clear the axles. Oh, and add steel to the frame to stiffen it up a bit. Is it a lot to do? Yes. But it'd keep me busy for one hell of a long time. Very Happy

Newbie looking for some tips Empty Re: Newbie looking for some tips