VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

2 posters

New to the site

New to the site Empty New to the site

Post by Guest Thu Jul 09, 2009 5:01 pm

Hello Vanners. I'm a noob at this site. Been poking around a bit today, and it seems my van may be too new for this site as well, (at least from what I've seen so far). You guys have some cool vans here, and I am thoroughly enjoying the pics!!

Anyway, onto why I joined. I have a 1985 G series van, that I acquired ~9 years ago. It was sitting all that time, with a split 305 block from the crank to the head, wide enough to see into the water jackets, and a broken camshaft. I traded a buddy of mine an Olds 401 engine, for a 350, 4 bolt main, so I'd have a core for my Jasper engine. Long story short, I finally have a running and inspected van, with a 350, 4 bolt main, Edelbrock carb, headers, Dual 3" exhaust all the way back, with Magnaflow mufflers. This part of it is the good stuff.

The bad: Weather took its toll over the years, and I need the outer seal around the windshield. Seems it shrunk, and it looks like the windshield got sick, and threw it up, so it's dangling in a few spots. All of the weatherstripping needs replaced, and a plethora of minor parts need to be acquired for me to get to where I'll be fully happy with the van.

So did I come to the right spot, and if not, can anyone point me in the right direction? I know they made this body for ~10 years, and I have a few yards to go check out, but none of them are local. My local yards all jumped on the government band wagon, to destroy anything older than 10 years, or took the money from developers with fat wallets, and closed up.