VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

+3
uante
WYO George
richie61
7 posters

Welding help

richie61
    richie61

Number of posts : 445
    Registration date : 2010-01-04

Welding help Empty Welding help

Post by richie61 Wed May 18, 2016 10:24 am

I was fooling around with the Northern Industrial 125amp flux core welder I got for Christmas from my kids. After watching hours of you tube videos I decided to give it a try. I know using gas gives the best results but its not an option on this one, so I am going to try and work with it for now.

The picture below is what I got as far as penetration. Does it look acceptable? With the wire speed set at 2 and the power set at 1 I got the best results. Any higher power or wire speed and it burns right through. It's my first time using it and I have more metal to practice on.

I saw on you tube this anti splatter spray stuff you spray on before you weld and then wipe away the slag, anyone try it?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Richie

Welding help Weld12
    WYO George
    WYO George

Number of posts : 12
    Registration date : 2016-02-14

Welding help Empty Re: Welding help

Post by WYO George Wed May 18, 2016 11:33 am

Anti-spatter works pretty good, some brands better than others. The stuff I've found to work best is called "Welders Black Magic", you should be able to find it online or at a good welding supply store. You don't want to weld through it though so maybe use some 1/4" masking tape and lay on top of your weld, spray the black magic then remove the tape. I don't use it for sheet metal because I weld with a TIG, but when welding near bolt holes using 1/4" 10018 rod I'll spray it in the bolt holes so that slag doesn't bugger up the threads and it works great for that. I'm sure it would work as good with sheet metal.