VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

3 posters

Slant 6 room for AC ? PS ?

rustytoolss
    rustytoolss

Number of posts : 624
    Registration date : 2013-07-19

Slant 6  room for AC ?    PS ? Empty Slant 6 room for AC ? PS ?

Post by rustytoolss Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:50 am

In my quest for answers (before I commit and by an A100). Is there enough room under the dog house to fit a AC compressor on a slant 6?. Is there enough distance above the intake manifold. I'm sure it could be mounted on the lower engine. Or power wise & room wise would a 318 be the better way to go? But I also have thoughts of maybe adding PS. (but that's another story). But about PS. I've read that the original system was more of a Power ram to "HELP" make steering easier. Seems to me when I was a mechanic the Ford Granadas had that type of system. (been a long time, could be wrong about that). But I do know that early tri5 chevys had a power ram for steering. Shawn
    Twinpilot001
    Twinpilot001

Number of posts : 6186
    Registration date : 2009-09-28

Slant 6  room for AC ?    PS ? Empty Re: Slant 6 room for AC ? PS ?

Post by Twinpilot001 Wed Jul 24, 2013 10:06 am

yes to=ALL!!cheers 
    Dawgboy
    Dawgboy

Number of posts : 278
    Registration date : 2013-04-20

Post by Dawgboy Wed Jul 24, 2013 10:57 am

Dude, Just get out there and find one. They are tons of fun, and if you are a shade tree mechanic at all, you will love it.

There is just tons of room in the doghouse with a /6, not so much in the 3 V8's I have seen.

That being said, If you are not a shade tree mechanic, and don't want to get dirty hands, get a Previa.
    rustytoolss
    rustytoolss

Number of posts : 624
    Registration date : 2013-07-19

Post by rustytoolss Wed Jul 24, 2013 11:18 am