VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

+3
G-Man
dodge man
RodStRace
7 posters

Newbie needs to know best way to lower a '68 on the cheap

Newbie needs to know best way to lower a '68 on the cheap Empty Newbie needs to know best way to lower a '68 on the cheap

Post by Guest Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:05 pm

I'm a newbie here... I just bought a bone stock '68 sportsman. The 8 window, 318 powered, bone stock kind. My plan is to lower it, slap some cragars or radir rims on it, do it '70's style. Anyone have some suggestions on the best way to lower it, cheaply, and maybe get a little rake to it?
    Bonus question: suggestions for what's the best tire size to go with? It's gonna be a daily driver/bike, parts hauler.
    RodStRace
    RodStRace

Number of posts : 3046
    Registration date : 2010-01-21

Newbie needs to know best way to lower a '68 on the cheap Empty Re: Newbie needs to know best way to lower a '68 on the cheap

Post by RodStRace Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:33 am

Welcome TRD!
    Both questions are common, take a look at other threads here for answers and pics to help you decide how to lower and for wheel/tire sizes.
    dodge man
    dodge man

Number of posts : 2036
    Registration date : 2012-08-08

Newbie needs to know best way to lower a '68 on the cheap Empty Re: Newbie needs to know best way to lower a '68 on the cheap

Post by dodge man Tue Oct 23, 2012 7:49 am

welcome to VV, i lowered mine by removeing 2 leaves from each spring, and i'm running 14'' tires, gives it a nice stance, or if you want it slamed you can do a axle flip.
    G-Man
    G-Man
    Mayor
    Mayor

Number of posts : 30743
    Registration date : 2008-05-06

Post by G-Man Tue Oct 23, 2012 10:56 am

Welcome!!! If you go cheap you may lose handling and ride
    pittsdriver
    pittsdriver

Number of posts : 335
    Registration date : 2010-08-12