VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

+7
richie61
RodStRace
Scott
donivan65
Digz
econopoor
softesttouch
11 posters

first engine rebuild

softesttouch
    softesttouch

Number of posts : 64
    Registration date : 2010-10-22

first engine rebuild Empty first engine rebuild

Post by softesttouch Tue Nov 30, 2010 7:41 pm

i am tearing down a 230 straight 6 from my 66 gmc van. I AM NOT A MECHANIC (i'm a dentist) and the level of my expertise is 'oh, so that's what a pushrod/rockerarm/lifter/etc. is' , but am trying to be methodical in my mission--have been labelling everything during the tear down. using as a guide an article from chevytrucks.com--it describes a 57 chevy 6 (stovebolt?). so far i have taken the aforementioned parts plus the valves off. here are my findings and questions:

everything looks in good shape, surfaces smooth, not worn or pitted. pushrods straight. everything this article tells me to look for regarding wear comes up a negative. maybe i'm just not looking closely enough, but it all looks pretty dang sweet!

there is carbon buildup everywhere, like i would expect (except excessive on the larger valves of the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th cylinders from the front of the engine).

the symptoms of this vehicle when it last ran 5 years ago were that it lost [/u]alot[u] of oil as it ran, and it never generated much power. one time my wife was following me in another vehicle on a road trip and she wondered why she was having a hard time seeing out of her windshield, only to discover later that it had a fine mist of oil on it! i used to add 1 quart oil for every 150-200 miles. top highway speed was only about 55. i am surprised the 'innards' are not worse off than they appear to be. the van has 91,000 miles on it-almost positive the odometer has not rolled over.