VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

3 posters

First Post: Looking for Guidance

BigMac1897
    BigMac1897

Number of posts : 3
    Registration date : 2020-07-03

First Post: Looking for Guidance Empty First Post: Looking for Guidance

Post by BigMac1897 Sun Mar 28, 2021 7:57 am

Hello!

I have a 1973 Dodge B200 Sportsman van. I noticed there was no specific place for "B" vans, so I figured I'd start here.

As of right now, it runs great. But I sometimes have a problem getting it to start. When I do get it going, it will crank twice and start up pretty quickly (while holding half throttle). But sometimes it will crank and crank without so much as a sputter, and begin to smell like gas. If I leave and come back the next day or even a few hours later, I can usually get it going.

I'm 23 and this is my first project car. Would anyone have any places that I could begin diagnosis? I have already changed the fuel filter after a random shut down, and the battery is fresh as well.

Thank you!
    First Post: Looking for Guidance 99pmsn10

Digz likes this post

donivan65
    donivan65
    Governor
    Governor

Number of posts : 12220
    Registration date : 2008-05-12

First Post: Looking for Guidance Empty Re: First Post: Looking for Guidance

Post by donivan65 Sun Mar 28, 2021 9:38 am

You are in the right place,,,,,the old van section,,,,,the ones with hoods,,,,,sounds like you have a spark problem,,,,,those vans might have the dual ballast resistors and electronic ignitions,,,,,so,,,,,looks like you are going to start off by checking the voltage signals at the coil or just hot wiring it,,,,,,,however,,,,,,we need some pictures of the engine compartment to see what has been changed over the years,,,,I would like to see what breaker plate is on that distributor, and what parts are on the firewall, like above the radiator,,,,,