VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

5 posters

What to look 4 when evaluating a 66 G10 to buy?

What to look 4 when evaluating a 66 G10 to buy? Empty What to look 4 when evaluating a 66 G10 to buy?

Post by Guest Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:31 pm

I'm going to buy a 66 G10 sight unseen, except for pictures. What should I be looking for on this van. You all have worked on and seen these vans for years. What's the key areas that are common problems with this model. I'm a novice so dumb it down for me.

Im guessing there's tire kicking checks, driving evaluation, engine sound evaluation, certain spots that should be oily, some spots that should not, certain parts that are easy to replace if broken or gone, some that are impossible or rediculously expensive to replace, etc.

I'm pretty desparate. I got a one way flight to this place cuz I'm fairly confident, and pretty comfortable with the prospect of a bit of work needed. I just need some nightmare Lemmon blind side sink hole scam ammo.

Any help would be much appreciated I fly down on
    the 5th. HELP!!

Heavy
    wacko
    wacko

Number of posts : 423
    Registration date : 2008-05-20

What to look 4 when evaluating a 66 G10 to buy? Empty Re: What to look 4 when evaluating a 66 G10 to buy?

Post by wacko Wed Apr 29, 2009 9:53 pm

You will want to check the rain gutters, around the windsheild and inside under the dash for rust or signs of leaking. Also the around the gas filler (mind is blank on what its actually called) check from the inside of the van for rust in this area.

I am sure more folks will chime in soon. Welcome to the site.
    savage
    savage

Number of posts : 2626
    Registration date : 2008-05-15

What to look 4 when evaluating a 66 G10 to buy? Empty Re: What to look 4 when evaluating a 66 G10 to buy?

Post by savage Thu Apr 30, 2009 5:54 am