VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

5 posters

How firm is your brake pedal ? dumb question time..

rustytoolss
    rustytoolss

Number of posts : 624
    Registration date : 2013-07-19

How firm is your brake pedal ? dumb question time.. Empty How firm is your brake pedal ? dumb question time..

Post by rustytoolss Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:59 am

I just converted to "Scotties" disk brake system.  I'm using the 1972 B100 van master cylinder  cardone # 10-1572M which is for manual brakes with front disc.
    Every check I do on the master cylinder comes out as good.  I've bubble bleed the brakes many times. Yet every time I have a soft spongy pedal. like there is air in the system. But I can not pump them up. The pedal feels like I have power brakes. I also installed all new hoses. Anybody got any ideas of what else I should look for. I was a mechanic at a Chrysler dealer for 20 years, so I've bleed brakes more times than I can remember. Not my first rodeo. but I'm stumped. Rolling Eyes Embarassed

Last edited by rustytoolss on Fri Mar 25, 2016 4:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
    dix
    dix
    Moderator 1st Class
    Moderator 1st Class

Number of posts : 8732
    Registration date : 2008-05-29

How firm is your brake pedal ? dumb question time.. Empty Re: How firm is your brake pedal ? dumb question time..

Post by dix Fri Mar 25, 2016 1:19 pm

I wish I knew you were doing them !!!!
    1st did you bench bleed the master cylinder ??? as per instructions??
    did you preload the calipers ?? (fill them up with fluid before installing them) ??
    the bleeders are not at 12 o'clock   That is where your air is at !!
    remove the calipers bolts hang them from a coat hanger over night with the bleeders at 12 o'clock