VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

+2
Twinpilot001
Jazontyler
6 posters

what thermostat are you using?

Jazontyler
    Jazontyler

Number of posts : 56
    Registration date : 2011-12-29

what thermostat are you using? Empty what thermostat are you using?

Post by Jazontyler Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:21 am

I have a 160 degree stat in my 200ci now. It has a big new 3 core radiator in there and the temperature gauge barely moves above the minimum reading point. I am in TX, so that should change soon, but my problem now is that I need to run with the choke partially on all the time or it sputters. I am wondering if this could be due to the fact that the engine really isn't warm enough? Any thoughts?

I plan to play with my main jet to see if it might just be running too lean, and put a fuel pressure gauge inline to see if I might be inadvertently starving it.
    Twinpilot001
    Twinpilot001

Number of posts : 6186
    Registration date : 2009-09-28

what thermostat are you using? Empty too cold!!

Post by Twinpilot001 Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:43 am

Should be @ 180 to get all warmed up nicely - i know as being from texas for 40 years ive done all that uve done = experience -180F If its getting a hot temp on ya =look into a cooling problem=ie: radiator fan shroud, or/?
    donivan65
    donivan65
    Governor
    Governor

Number of posts : 12220
    Registration date : 2008-05-12

what thermostat are you using? Empty Re: what thermostat are you using?

Post by donivan65 Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:04 am