VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

3 posters

Maybe I'm just a noob. E-van year identification???

Maybe I'm just a noob. E-van year identification??? Empty Maybe I'm just a noob. E-van year identification???

Post by Guest Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:05 am

There's a bone yard not far from here that has a few early Econolines. I'd like to go snag some goodies, but it would be handy to know what year van I'm looking at before I dig in for certain specific parts. Are there any visual clues to look for to instantly determine what year I'm looking at from a few yards away? I'm new to the earlies, so I'm not all that familiar with them yet. Are there subtle differences that I'm missing? I know the '67s had the vertical tail lights, but other than that, I'm clueless. I tried a search here and on google, but no luck. Thanks guys.
    RodStRace
    RodStRace

Number of posts : 3046
    Registration date : 2010-01-21

Maybe I'm just a noob. E-van year identification??? Empty Re: Maybe I'm just a noob. E-van year identification???

Post by RodStRace Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:36 am

I find it best to check every van. Never know what was grabbed and used over the past 40+ years, so when it was built is not as important as what it has now.
    I know the 'A's better, but the 'E's had a split at 65, with different engine mounts, doghouses, and such. There are probably also some changes in 67 for the crash standards. Hopefully some E experts will answer this for you.

Maybe I'm just a noob. E-van year identification??? Empty Re: Maybe I'm just a noob. E-van year identification???

Post by Guest Sat Apr 16, 2011 8:42 am