VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

+2
tazvan67
itruns
6 posters

440 big block swap

440 big block swap Empty 440 big block swap

Post by Guest Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:49 pm

I'm looking to swap out my 360 for a 440 in my 66 A100 pickup. Does anyone know what modifications must be made? Motor mounts? Will a 440 fit in the stock hole? I know that 383's fit but I'm not sure about the deck height etc..of the 440? I would appreciate any advice before I start making plans.
    Thanks Question
    itruns
    itruns

Number of posts : 1605
    Registration date : 2008-07-03

440 big block swap Empty Re: 440 big block swap

Post by itruns Tue Aug 26, 2008 8:23 pm

I've had no experience with that, but from what I've heard, it's a very tight squeeze and you may be better off building a high performance small-block.

Nate and those guys should be able to steer you in the right direction as far as modifications, headers, etc.

Good Luck with your project.

- Larry

Post by Guest Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:20 am

First find a big-block transmission and have the tailshaft swapped over from your current transmission. This way you can retain the stock mounting and proper driveshaft length. Assuming you have the 727. Oh, a B-van transmission mounting system can be adapted into an A-100 for extra support if you wish.

62-65 big-block B-body car engine mount brackets can be used with stock smallblock A-100 rubber insulators (Anchor p/n 2338). This will basically allow the big-block to drop right into place.

The 440 is wider than a 383 or 400. It's best to widen the hole in the floor on the drivers' side to allow for this. You will also need to extend the side panel of the engine box out to accomodate this. 2" or so should be plenty. Of course you will need to upgrade your radiator...that goes without saying. Smile