VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

4 posters

new to the econoline scene!

Gezsfrk
    Gezsfrk

Number of posts : 16
    Registration date : 2022-06-26

new to the econoline scene! Empty new to the econoline scene!

Post by Gezsfrk Sat Jul 30, 2022 10:11 am

So i am new to the econoline scene but I just bought a 62. The original owner stuffed either a 300 or 240 under it and cut up the center support ( where the transmission mounts) in order to move it all back and his mount is hideous…. Anyone have any advice or pictures on a proper engine and transmission mount for this swap? Thanks
    13-ball
    13-ball

Number of posts : 87
    Registration date : 2020-07-23

new to the econoline scene! Empty Re: new to the econoline scene!

Post by 13-ball Mon Aug 01, 2022 7:31 am

You'll want to spend some time reinforcing where your crossmembers mount to the body. Even the "frame" rails on these are thin sheet metal and are likely rusty (thinner yet) or cracked.

You can get a factory engine crossmember from a 65 - 67 van like the one in this pic.  Or, if you're handy you can fabricate one to do the same thing.  Then you'll want a similar looking crossmember for the transmission to sit on.

If you take the time and make the effort it'll be strong and look great.

new to the econoline scene! S-l40010
    Vanner63
    Vanner63

Number of posts : 235
    Registration date : 2010-11-11

Post by Vanner63 Sat Sep 03, 2022 4:20 am

13-Ball is right. You really want to go in and install the correct components for the motor and transmission someone stuffed in there.