VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

4 posters

63 Falcon. On the fence.

Brassjeremy
    Brassjeremy

Number of posts : 2
    Registration date : 2014-10-13

63 Falcon. On the fence. Empty 63 Falcon. On the fence.

Post by Brassjeremy Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:03 pm

I'm on the fence regarding picking up a 63' Falcon Van I drove yesterday. Engine looks and feels clean but I'm no mechanic. I've always driven stick and the three on the tree was pretty easy to pick up. It's the original 170 straight six. No idea how many miles on it. This vehicle shows little rust and the work that was done to a repaired area is all metal (not bondo). There is a bird's nest of wires hanging down from the left of the steering column but the owner assures me that a cable kit will take care of this look. The electrical seemed to be working for the most part anyway (Head/tail lights and signals). The undercarriage looks decent for 51 years old and I'm told the tires and shocks are new as well. Nice seats and new bench in back. No insulation even in the doghouse so it's like riding inside of a lawn mower. They're looking for close to 5K for this one but having not owned one before I'm not sure how much of a risk I'm taking. I appreciate any insight.

From the ad: Runs smooth, Partially restored. New parts: shocks, gas pump and line, spark plugs, thermostat, radiator, hoses replaced, overflow container, Seats, all window seals, new windshield, 4 tires, speedometer glass, glove box, electric fan distributor. alternator, universal joints--Restored parts: gas tank resealed, exhaust heat wrap, exhaust hangers, chrome and emblems, no rust and more.

Hope these pic worked out. I followed the prompts but just see the URLs.

63 Falcon. On the fence. Nest12

63 Falcon. On the fence. Front10

63 Falcon. On the fence. Engine10

63 Falcon. On the fence. Wheel10
    weirdbeard