VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

+5
Vantasia
donivan65
mikeysly
diamond dave
LittleDoheny
9 posters

New Owner 1967 Chevy Van Needs Help

LittleDoheny
    LittleDoheny

Number of posts : 27
    Registration date : 2014-05-04

New Owner 1967 Chevy Van Needs Help Empty New Owner 1967 Chevy Van Needs Help

Post by LittleDoheny Sun May 04, 2014 7:50 pm

Hello everyone, I just purchased a 1967 Chevy Van I actually found it posted here in this site, drove to Denver to buy it, everything seems to be fine, however I have a question, and I will try to explain it the best I can.

I haven't owned an older vehicle for quite some time, I have been driving a 1997 Chevy Tahoe for the last 4 years. This van runs great, great condition, however, when I shift on the column from 1st gear everything seems, fine, 2nd also, and then third seems ok, but when I get to about 55 miles per hour, in my opinion it seems like the engine is running at high rpms.
    Now let me say, I am NOT MECHANICAL in any was shape or form, so complicated answers probably won't help me much. It just seems that way to me, it seems as if when I start to go to 65 the pedal is pretty close to the floor also, this concerns me a bit, it is confusing, I have no tachometer, and I really cant tell if this is normal for a 6 cylinder engine.

Can I get some opinions, I live in a very small town with only one mechanic, and I am not getting much help from these kind of questions, I also replaced the celenoid on the starter, because the mechanic said he ordered 2 of them, and neither of them fit, they looked EXACTLY alike, however, the bolt ? hole? patterns, just didn't match up, so he replaced the celenoid instead.

He asked if anyone may have replaced the engine, but I do not know and cannot find out.