VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

4 posters

Need a chuckle? Econoline wiring story!

vanny
    vanny

Number of posts : 14775
    Registration date : 2012-09-22

Need a chuckle?  Econoline wiring story! Empty Need a chuckle? Econoline wiring story!

Post by vanny Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:51 pm

Back in the 80's, I was in a van club and at the time, we all began putting running lights under the vans attached to the underside of the rear axle. I don't have a lift and I'm NOT a mechanic. I decided to use a probe light to determine which wires to attach these lights to. I asked my father to put the right turn signal on and then I probed the wires to see when the light would blink,then attached the wire to that one. I had him repeat the process on the left turn signal. I found it and did the same.

Once I was done, I climbed inside and asked my father to tell me if the running light would blink when I turned on the right turn signal. He said it was working. I then tried the left turn signal and he said it wasn't working. I looked down at the dash panel and every time the left turn signal blinked, the Gas gauge needle would jump from empty to full and back again. I almost wet my pants from laughing so hard. I told my father to take a look and he busted a gut laughing as well.

Next day I called my mechanic buddy and told him what happened. He said I probably mistakenly attached the wire to the lead that goes to the gas tank because it sends an alternating current to give an accurate reading of the gas level in the tank. I took a lot of ribbing over that one. Good Times!!! lol!
    Gothboy
    Gothboy

Number of posts : 714
    Registration date : 2012-07-02

Need a chuckle?  Econoline wiring story! Empty Re: Need a chuckle? Econoline wiring story!

Post by Gothboy Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:00 pm

That made my night!!!! Very Happy
    rebar
    rebar