VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

4 posters

Tailgate fitment

misterbee
    misterbee

Number of posts : 70
    Registration date : 2014-12-30

Tailgate fitment Empty Tailgate fitment

Post by misterbee Wed Sep 20, 2017 1:56 pm

Hey ePup folks,

I've been working with my shop on the bodywork for my 1962 ePup.

After putting the tailgate back on the truck, we noticed some fitment issues. Specifically, the tailgate doesn't seem to fit flush with the left and right rear quarters.

Can anyone comment on whether this is normal or not? I don't recall how well it fit before we started the bodywork. Right now, the tailgate protrudes about 1/4" on the left and right sides-- rather than being flush with the quarters.

Comments?
    jdlaugh
    jdlaugh

Number of posts : 298
    Registration date : 2013-03-18

Tailgate fitment Empty Re: Tailgate fitment

Post by jdlaugh Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:17 pm

I don't know if that's normal, but my tailgate is not a flush fit. The top is near flush but the bottom is out quite a bit. I rebuilt mine as best I could and some of the issue may be my build, but it's pretty clear that on my truck the quarters are not square/vertical. The quarters are pretty solid and needed minimal work, so I'm guessing the "out of plumb" condition was a factory option .... Suspect

Wolfster
    Wolfster

Number of posts : 140
    Registration date : 2016-08-27

Post by Wolfster Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:10 am

Due to them being tailgates, they were known to bow, twist, dent, etc.. Anytime you're doing a build or repair of the corners and/or tailgate, you have to do them in conjunction with one another. You will be an expert on installing and removing the tailgate before you're done.

Checking for square is as simple as measuring diagonally from corner to corner.
    Use a 6' straight edge both horizontal and diagonally to check for any bow in it.