VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

+3
jrdunn96
vanny
Strato1
7 posters

D & D Disc brake conversion tips- what the forums don't mention

Strato1
    Strato1

Number of posts : 14
    Registration date : 2017-02-07

D & D Disc brake conversion tips- what the forums don't mention Empty D & D Disc brake conversion tips- what the forums don't mention

Post by Strato1 Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:28 am

I just completed the D&D brake conversion. Overall I'm very satisfied with the net result, the van stops nice and straight and just as fast as a modern vehicle. With a complete rebuilt suspension and steering box and new king pins, it feels very stable and nice.

This is not the first conversion I have done, it is actually my 4th (a 49 Ford, a 55 F-100, a 58 Desoto and now my 65 Econoline), so I'm no novice. While the kit claims to be an easy install (and for parts of it, it is easy) there are some things that should be mentioned in the kit that would save a lot of trouble for some. I have asked Trevor from D&D to please make these notes to the installation instructions.

Master Cylinder By far the biggest pain in the butt is the master cylinder. First of all there are two master cylinder styles (maybe more) for the Bronco II and because they are not exactly flying off the shelves it took me 5 trips to parts stores just to find a second one when I was having issues with the first one. (You have to pop the resevoir off to tell if you have the right one or not- the difference is in the inner diameter of the rubber fittings- so you need to be there in person to test it- a phone call will not help you).