VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

4 posters

Clear coat spraying tips???

winkyvan
    winkyvan

Number of posts : 16
    Registration date : 2014-03-05

Clear coat spraying tips??? Empty Clear coat spraying tips???

Post by winkyvan Sun Jun 22, 2014 8:56 am

Hello everyone. I'm just wondering if anyone on here does their own paint work. I'm an amateur painter for sure, but have had good results doing bikes and guitars. I'm having a super hard time getting a decent coat of clear applied on the sides of my van. Seems painting a big area is more difficult than I anticipated. I'm getting dry spray or runs. I would color sand and buff and polish, but I tried it with this particular clear and did not like the results. It seems this particular clear is a bit soft when fully cured. Anyhow, just looking for some tips before I wet sand down and try again. Thanks!
    Twinpilot001
    Twinpilot001

Number of posts : 6186
    Registration date : 2009-09-28

Clear coat spraying tips??? Empty Re: Clear coat spraying tips???

Post by Twinpilot001 Sun Jun 22, 2014 2:40 pm

Depends on the clear coat! Brand wise. Is it the same as the pain previously applied?? Now- if DRY=?? Too much gun pressure, or flow is way too little. painting with a voc type gun?? or old skl pressure type?? I use old skl type only! clears are mixed with hardners too! Ive cleared entire vehicles before & can only tell from experience - its a pressure or flow problem =maybe =viscosity of the clear?
    jimthefred
    jimthefred

Number of posts : 326
    Registration date : 2012-01-15

Post by jimthefred Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:47 pm