VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

+5
Barnabas
econopoor
EconoUSAparts
vanny
vonbutch
9 posters

Mercury Econoline Van

vonbutch
    vonbutch

Number of posts : 20
    Registration date : 2014-05-25

Mercury Econoline Van Empty Mercury Econoline Van

Post by vonbutch Sun May 25, 2014 7:37 pm

So, I am brand new to this particular site, but I have been interested in finding a 1960's van to make my own. Well, today I was at a birthday party, and in the garage happened to be a 1964-65 MERCURY Econoline window van. I need some help/advice from one of you experts, as I really want this van. I do not know all the details yet, but I will find out. I do know it has been sitting for at least ten years. The beauty of it is, that although it has some minor dings and dents, it is an Arizona vehicle, and has ZERO rust. Yes, it does need to be restored, but it a perfect place to start. I would assume this is a very rare van. Could I get some more insight from someone who knows more about these? I would appreciate it.....
    vanny
    vanny

Number of posts : 14775
    Registration date : 2012-09-22

Mercury Econoline Van Empty Re: Mercury Econoline Van

Post by vanny Sun May 25, 2014 7:47 pm

I am not an expert by any means but have learned from those on this site. The Mercury Econolines were built in Canada. Minor dings and dents are an easy fix, rust is not. So, if you can get this zero rust van at a decent price, go for it!!! I love the window vans as well. There are guys on here who can tell you a lot more and I'm sure they'll jump in soon. Duane from Tennessee can probably tell you much more about these and probably will. There are several really knowledgable Ford guys who can fill you in. Yes, they are rare, especially without rust.