BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

Buying Advice

Lostranger

Number of posts : 11
Registration date : 2014-05-25

Buying Advice

Post by Lostranger on Sun May 25, 2014 5:57 am

Here's a query for the wisdom of the forum. At age 61, I'm a newbie to this forum, but not to classic Chevy vans. I had a '64 G 10 in high school. That was 1970, and I'm pretty sure it was the first personal-use van in our county. The few other vans here at that time were used by plumbers, electricians, carpenters and so forth.

I replaced the tiny six banger with a 327 300hp from a '65 Chevelle. Had to rebuild the engine and change the doghouse, but it made a wonderful package. I can report that it had adequate power and was a blast to drive. I took it with me when I moved to St. Louis for college, and I'll always regret swapping it off while I was there.

I've had the bug for a 2nd Generation Chevy for some time, and I've finally found one. Two, actually, and I'm in the process of deciding which one to buy from a local salvage yard. Neither have titles, but that is workable in this state. I do not yet know the year of either. Both are panel vans. One is a 108 with no windows in the side doors. The 90 has windows in those doors. The man claims that both were running when he got them, but that's not important.

My plan is to build a unique daily driver. Nice, but daily. I have a fresh 350 TBI from an '87 pickup. I will back it with either a TH400 or a TH700. The engine will be stock except for headers and a Flowmaster system. I plan to upgrade to front disks, and I'm open to changing the rear end. Springs will probably be rearched and tempered. I'll want to be able to do some towing.

If the vans were in identical shape, I would buy the 108. Unfortunately, it has major rust at the R/R corner. Much of the body and some of the floor is gone in that area. It has rust in other areas, but not as severe. The 90 has some rust, but not nearly as bad. It would be easier to repair.