VintAGE-Vans

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER.... A's, G's & E's

4 posters

new econoline owner, new rear main seal leak..

new econoline owner, new rear main seal leak.. Empty new econoline owner, new rear main seal leak..

Post by Guest Wed Oct 29, 2008 5:33 pm

Hey guys,
    I recently bought a 1966, 240 cid, window van with 25.500 miles on it. I'm the third owner. It's been working for Delta Airlines (airport) for most of it's hard life, perhaps that explains the low mileage.
    Fun to drive but it leaks oil. Replaced the oil pan seal and it still drips. A friend suggested it's the rear main seal after looking at it.
    I'm a complete newb to fords so I have a couple of questions.

-what's the order of procedure to remove engine?
    -should I replace the crankshaft rear main seal also?

I don't have a shop manual yet but someone with experience to help.

Thanks Smile
    savage
    savage

Number of posts : 2625
    Registration date : 2008-05-15

new econoline owner, new rear main seal leak.. Empty Re: new econoline owner, new rear main seal leak..

Post by savage Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:40 pm

Econorat, Welcome to the site. Not a Ford guy ,but hopefully one will answer you question soon.
    donivan65
    donivan65
    Governor
    Governor

Number of posts : 12218
    Registration date : 2008-05-12

new econoline owner, new rear main seal leak.. Empty Re: new econoline owner, new rear main seal leak..

Post by donivan65 Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:51 pm

Make sure you take a paper towel and wipe around the back of the Valve Cover to see if you find any oil back there. Sometimes the gasket up there leaks and it runs all the way down to the rear main seal area,,,,,,
    Digz
    Digz

Number of posts : 3794
    Registration date : 2008-05-17

Post by Digz Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:34 pm